Pakistan vs New Zealand: Scoreboard of first Twenty20 match


Pakistan won the first T20 match on New Zealand of 3 T20 International at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday. As it happened, Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and chose to bat first in the first T20I. Kiwis got trashed by Green shirts by 2 runs in an exciting competition to take the 1-0 lead in the three-match series. Sarfaraz-led Pakistan team set a target of 149 runs for Kiwis. Following a decent target, New Zealand failed just with 2 runs short to 146 for 6 in 20 overs.

Mohammad Hafeez brilliantly smashed 45 off 36 balls to be declared as man of the match in the first T20. while Sarfaraz also contributed an important 34 runs. Man of The Match was awarded to Mohammad Hafeez. Taylor finished with a 26-ball 42 not out with three boundaries but could not keep the run rate down as New Zealand needed 53 in the last five overs. That was in contrast from the first 5 overs of their innings, dominated by opener Colin Munro´s 42-ball 58 with three sixes and six boundaries.


Pakistan, who are on a roll after the whitewashing Australia 3-0 on Sunday in Dubai on Sunday, now have a 1-0 lead in the 3 match series with the last 2 matches in Dubai on Friday and Sunday. The victory gave world number one ranked Pakistan their seventh consecutive win since July and 15th in 17 Twenty20 internationals this year. Pakistan´s varied bowling, led by Hasan Ali with 3-35, pulled them back significantly.


Munro opened up in style, hitting two sixes and a four off Imad Wasim´s fifth over of the innings before greeting Hasan with a six and a boundary to complete New Zealand´s fifty in just 5.4 overs. But Pakistan dismissed Glenn Phillips (12), Munro, captain Kane Williamson (11) and Colin de Grandhomme (six) as New Zealand stalled at 89-4.

Pakistan managed 81 runs in the last ten overs with skipper Sarfraz Ahmed chipping in with a 26-ball 34 which had three boundaries and a six. Imad Wasim smashed a six and boundary in the last over to finish with 14 not out while Faheem Ashraf made 10 not out.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here