Peshawar Zalmi vs Quetta Gladiators: PSL 2019 Qualifier, Preview


The final round of the fourth Pakistan Super League (PSL) begins Wednesday with its Qualifier match to be played between two top teams in the league rounds – Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators – at 7-00 pm at the national Stadium, Karachi.

Both teams secured 14 points each on the table but Peshawar Zalmi has an edge with a better net run rate against Quetta Gladiators. Both won seven and lost three in ten matches.

The two teams have been arch rivals in the four-year history of PSL, always gone through tough competitions with each other. Both contested in the PSL-2017 final where Peshawar emerged victorious and Quetta were the runners-up for the second time in a row – first in 2016.

Peshawar were also the runners-up last year (2018) when they were beaten by Islamabad United.

This year also the cricket lovers will definitely enjoy the keen contest between the two arch rivals as both sides have some excellent players to display quality game at the National Stadium of Karachi.

Before the Qualifier, both teams have already faced each other in two games and both times the Gladiators defeated the Zalmi. They won their first encounter by six wickets at Dubai on February 15 and the second by eight wickets at Abu Dhabi on March 4.

Peshawar Zalmi’s highest total in PSL-4 is 203/7, which they made against Karachi Kings at Karachi on March 11 while the highest total scored by Quetta Gladiators is 189/7 against Karachi Kings at Karachi on March 10.

The highest run-scorer for Quetta Gladiators is Shane Watson, who made 352 at an average of 44.00 with three fifties in 10 matches. These are also the most runs scored by any batsman in this tournament.

For Peshawar Zalmi, Imam-ul-Haq scored the most runs – 257 at an average of 28.55 with three half-centuries in nine matches.

The highest wicket-taker for Peshawar Zalmi is medium-fast bowler Hasan Ali, who claimed 21 wickets (ave 11.61) – the most by any bowler in the tournament.

He took four wickets in an innings on three occasions, which is also the most by any bowler in the tournament.

The most wickets taken for Quetta Gladiators are 15 – by left-arm pacer Sohail Tanvir at an average of 17.66 with one four-wicket haul.


Peshawar Zalmi: Darren Sammy (captain), Kamran Akmal (wk), Imam-ul-Haq, Kieron Pollard, Misbah-ul-Haq, Liam Dawson, Umar Amin, Sohaib Maqsood, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Umaid Asif, Sameen Gul, Ibtisam Sheikh, Dawid Malan, Chris Jordan.

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain & wk), Shane Watson, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Rilee Rossouw, Dwayne Smith, Ahsan Ali, Sohail Tanvir, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Ghulam Mudassar, Mohammad Irfan, Fawad Ahmed, Mohammad Asghar, Saud Shakeel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here