Sri Lanka parliament votes against Rajapakse.


Sri Lanka parliament votes against Rajapakse.

The parliament of Sri Lanka passed a no-confidence motion against the government of Mahinda Rajapakse that was appointed under controversies on Wednesday. This was done just on the following day of the overturning of the presidential decree that dissolved the legislature as per the laws of the Supreme Court.

Karu Jayasuriya’s Statement: Mahinda Rajapakse as PM of Srilanka. 

According to Karu Jayasuriya, the current speaker, it was ruled that out of the 225 members of the assembly, a majority supported the no-confidence motion that was passed against Mahinda Rajapakse who was declared to be the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka in place of Ranil Wickremesinghe on the 26th day of October this year.

Image result for Sri Lanka parliament votes against Rajapakse.

Controversial win of Wickremesinghe: the Biggest party of Sri Lanka.

It was not automatically meant that the party of Wickremesinghe that is the biggest in Sri Lankan parliament controversially won the showdown of the constitution through this no-confidence motion. The right to choose the upcoming Prime Minister of Sri Lanka lies in the hands of Maithripala Sirisena who is the current president and retains the power to do so.
As soon as the calls for the vote emerged as per the directions of the speaker, Rajapakse along with his legislator son Namal was seen walking out of the red carpet chamber to avoid the chaos that resided inside. Rajapakse’s loyal MPs tried to grab the opportunity and cause a disruption to the vote by enhancing the legislature’s authority symbol; however, could not bring Jayasuriya to a pause.

Speaker Statement: 

The speaker finally said, “The ayes have it; I rule that this House does not have confidence in the government.” There were several accusations against the speaker raised by the ministers of Rajapakse who charged the speaker for violating the norms of the parliament by hosting a vote against the wishes of these members.

After the vote, the copy to the new motion passed was signed by 122 MPs of the parliament for the President to proceed further with the actions. According to the President, it was mentioned that the speaker had failed to get the list of the signatures to get notary certified. This caused a parliamentary shutdown for three long weeks as the motion was dissolved by President Maithripala Sirisena to wake the struggle related to political scenario throughout the country.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here